Modest maternity mini skirt

Maternity mini-skirt

After a week of unsatisfying and slow sewing, my quick wins weekend (now a few weeks ago) took shape nicely and I finished a modest maternity mini that mashes up an unworn Reiss skirt with a primark tshirt.

I’m still trying not to purchase maternity clothes, but the challenge of refashioning my existing wardrobe is getting keener. Some garments are off the list for refashioning/cutting up because they’re just too nice and I’ll hang on to them until I get to The Other Side of Pregnancy. Other garments just can’t accommodate a jersey expanda-panel. But when tempted to just go shopping, much of the maternity stuff on the High Street I’ve found so far is ghastly! I may well elaborate in another post.

reiss skirt fabric close up

Where was I? Oh yes – this skirt was on its way to the charity shop. Although I like the colour and the sewn-in swirly pattern of the fabric, the shape just didn’t flatter – too tight. Hoiking it up over the knees, however, turns it into a modest-mini – perfect with tights, boots and a jumper. You can do it too, by adding a jersey panel at the front with an elastic waistband.  

Maternity mini front panel 2

maternity mini front panel

All you need to do is…

skirt with marked up bump

1. try on skirt and hoike up to hem level required. Mark lowest known point of baby bump, and desired waistline at back.

Reiss skirt cut for bump and waistband

2. mark out and cut waistline, following curve of original waistband at back, then general bump shape at front. I cut mine extra-low because I get terrible tummy ache if anything cuts in to my bump.

3. reaffix waistband to back. I put in a couple of small darts at the back to keep the shape for my remaining waist. Tiny bit left!

4. cut a thick piece of elastic – at a length that sits comfortably from your side seams over your tummy. Mine worked out about the same width as the tshirt I was using, and to be worn right up over the top of the bump.

5. tshirt – use whole body of tshirt. You will be using the fabric doubled up, and the body hem as your new ‘waistline’. Fold the tshirt hem (double thickness) over your elastic so it overlaps by 2-3mm. Stay stitch at each end, then catch hem edge and elastic in wavy zigzag stitch.

Jersey panel for Reiss skirt, cut and marked up

6. Fold the tshirt in half to give you the centre front, lay your cut skirt over the top of it matching up waistlines and mark out the curve given by your cut skirt. Then add 1cm seam allowance and cut. This is your jersey panel. 

Panel pinned to skirt

7. pin the lower edge of jersey panel to the cut out bump of the skirt (still double thickness),  right sides facing, matching centre fronts and stretching where needed. Stitch a single seam 1cm from cut edge, then finish raw edge with a zigzag.

8. sew the back to the jersey panel at the side seams, right sides together.

Reiss skirt with jersey panel, finished

9. It should look a little like this.

10. Now pull on your new maternity skirt. Get your boots on.

Which suddenly reminds me of King’s Love and Pride, and feeling a-flutter watching Paul King on TOTP in 1985 …

Cross posted on wardrobe refashion.

20 responses to “Modest maternity mini skirt

  1. Pingback: Tutorial: Make a maternity skirt · Sewing @ CraftGossip

  2. Fabulous skirt!! I linked to your how-to on Craft Gossip Sewing:
    http://sewing.craftgossip.com/tutorial-make-a-maternity-skirt/2010/03/21/

    –Anne

  3. youngwifey

    Your skirt looks great! I plan to refashion clothing for maternity also, If I’m ever that blessed. Good luck & congrats!

  4. oh thank you so much i have been googling maternity clothing for the past few nights and then wham you appear on my blog watcher from WR, thank you soooo much.

  5. 5kidswdisabilities

    Woooo! What a clever design! YOu really should go into business selling these!
    Lindsey Petersen
    http://5kidswdisabilities.wordpress.com

  6. i like your design so much, and it goes perfectly with the tied at the bottom top. i hope i will be able to use it myself in some time.
    congratulations and all the best to you!

  7. Super cute! It looks very comfy. :)

  8. Just found your blog… and what a great outfit! I am impressed by your resolve not to buy maternity clothes. Good luck!

  9. Pingback: Look at me, look at me, look at me! « Georgeina's Blog

  10. judith

    sexy arse!!!!

  11. judith

    opps, maybe saying that makes a sexist impression. i swear that i am a soon-to-sixty woman, and i think it’s great to hear comments like that when you#re expecting. i know i felt that way, and i looked like a wallowing whale when i was expecting my daughter ….

    nothing sexy there

  12. Pingback: wishologie.com » Blog Archive » Do you sew? Make or Refab your own maternity skirt!

  13. Kim

    This is great! I like how you don’t see the extra jersey at the back. I will have to give this a go. Thanks for sharing.

  14. As the editor of AllFreeSewing.com, I wanted to let you know I’ve linked to this project on our site. I think it’s a great project our readers will love to make. Here is the link:

    http://www.allfreesewing.com/Bottoms-to-Sew/Modest-Maternity-Mini-Skirt

    Thanks again and if you have any questions please feel free to contact me.

    Kirsten
    Editor
    AllFreeSewing.com

  15. What a brilliant idea! I don’t plan on salvaging my own clothes because I hope to use them after baby is born, but it’s nice to know that I can at least go and look at super cheap skirts and can alter them to fit over my bump! Thanks again!

  16. Fantastic idea and looks great on you! (The Love & Pride reference made me all nostalgic for the 80s and Top of the Pops lol!)

  17. jsparrow

    Love the skirt! Thanks for sharing the pattern. Do you have the pattern for the top you are wearing? I can’t get the link for that pattern to work….

Leave a comment

About me


I started this blog to help me Get Things Done: sewing and knitting mostly.
But now I have a daughter! So I continue to daydream in enormous detail about what I'd like to make, but squeeze the 'doing' into precious naptimes and evenings.

Can I keep it up? Time will tell!

Want to follow my blog and get notifications of new posts by email?

Join 55 other subscribers

Older posts