From under to on top

IKEA fabric cushion covers

Under the sofa, is the annexe of my textile stash. Well, if your sofa has two large storage areas underneath it, it would be daft not to put them to good use, no?

Very few IKEA trips have resulted in our making good our escape without some textiles – they do some great value, striking, mid-century modern ripped off inspired graphics that go nicely with our ‘Design House Stockholm’ cushion covers. On hard-wearing, durable cotton canvas, that’s hard to pass up. However, the stash-annexe is pretty full. So full, in fact, that the duvet & pillows that were originally supposed to be stored in the sofa have been properly annexed by the fabric, and now live on the sofa.

The upside: our sofa has lots of soft comfy stuff on it – duvets, pillows and so forth. The downside: our houseguests get to sleep under stuff we’ve been sitting/drinking tea / eating biscuits on for the last few weeks/months.

IKEA cushions label

So, a spot of cushion-cover making has redressed the balance. Cushion covers, large and small, now house our guest pillows and duvet, and adorn the sofa. Blimey, they’re quick. Very satisfying, indeed. Nice straight lines to sew, bit of lapped zip insertion, bit of ego-labelling (I got mine from Charm Woven Labels) and Uncle Bob won’t have to sleep amongst your Hobnob-crumbed, tea-stained TV-watching debris any more!

IKEA cushions label underneath

I suppose as an alternative, I could have made a biscuit-crumb-catching-bib for hubby, but there’s no way on God’s green earth I could have persuaded him to pose for a photo.

Leave a Reply

About me


I started this blog to help me Get Things Done: sewing and knitting mostly.
But now I have a daughter! So I continue to daydream in enormous detail about what I'd like to make, but squeeze the 'doing' into precious naptimes and evenings.

Can I keep it up? Time will tell!

Want to follow my blog and get notifications of new posts by email?

Join 43 other followers

Older posts

