plus ca change, best intentions and all that

Now our daughter is sleeping (such a short sentence, such BLOODY hard work getting there) I’ve gotten back what’s known in some circles as ‘evenings’, AND with them, my sewing mojo. Wahey!

Oddly enough, some things are unchanged by motherhood – procrastination remains my enemy, the stash is ever huge and I still have ambitions waaaaaay beyond my enthusiasm/endurance. But there’s the inspiration of a lovely daughter – little Miss Marina – to refashion for: she’s small, kids’ clothes are easier and quicker to finish and we’re running out of space!

There’s another carrot – just chanced upon elsie marley’s kids clothes week spring 2011. I’ll use this to get me into the sewing and blogging flow again and to put to good use the surprisingly large number of  vintage and contemporary children’s patterns I seem to have. I don’t remember buying/acquiring many of them AT ALL. Must’ve been milk-drunk. Plus there’s the incentive of sewing for a rapidly growing child – I must use these patterns up before she outgrows them!

In preparation, I’m repopulating my creative blog list for inspiration. I lost my extensive list of favourites when our PC went pfffffft a few weeks ago. Started by re-remembering the ones I really enjoyed and am now following up new links in other people’s blogrolls. It’s just as exciting as when I first sussed out there were sewists out there doing stuff, and sharing their experiences and expertise.

to name a few. There’s so much inspiration, BIG life events and beautiful work out there! But if you have a favourite I should read – send me your recommendations, please, peeps.

Roll on May!

Leave a comment

About me


I started this blog to help me Get Things Done: sewing and knitting mostly.
But now I have a daughter! So I continue to daydream in enormous detail about what I'd like to make, but squeeze the 'doing' into precious naptimes and evenings.

Can I keep it up? Time will tell!

Want to follow my blog and get notifications of new posts by email?

Join 55 other subscribers

Older posts