First project complete!

20120627-122238.jpg

Today I completed my first project in my new workspace. I set my sights on something low tech but important: replacing the backs on a trio of cushion covers for my sister-in-law, as promised, about five months ago.

20120627-122426.jpg

Using the same technique as I’ve done for previous cushions – a lapped zip – and using up some leftover duck from the stash, I whipped it up in no time. Well, over two days. With one MAJOR unpicking. But they turned out alright!

20120627-122618.jpg
So far, so good. The aim is, over the next couple of months, to take a huge chunk out of the stash as it takes up simply TOO much space in our home. Watch this space and keep me company. Expect giveaways, pop-up sales, refashions, tears and the usual dollop of frustration.

Next project – a flurry of sunshine yellow skirts for all the girlie toddlers in my life.

20120628-085622.jpg

3 responses to “First project complete!

  1. Your zipper looks really good! I love your label, where did you have it made?

  2. thank you so much! the labels are from charm labels – google will get you to them quickly.
    just jumped over to your blog – loved your selection of july’s burda patterns. nearly tempting me to break my no-more-new-patterns pledge!

  3. Marina Schiptjenko

    You are the best. I am superimpressed!

Leave a Reply

About me


I started this blog to help me Get Things Done: sewing and knitting mostly.
But now I have a daughter! So I continue to daydream in enormous detail about what I'd like to make, but squeeze the 'doing' into precious naptimes and evenings.

Can I keep it up? Time will tell!

Want to follow my blog and get notifications of new posts by email?

Join 43 other followers

Older posts

