From scratch: baby bouncer cover

bouncer cover with bear

Following the very sage advice from Barb & Mary Nanna – for which BIG thanks – figure I *do* have a number of bags – casual, smart, plastic and some even water-proof – which can be trialled over the next few weeks to help me work out what’s really needed from a diaper bag.

Therefore abandon an Orla Kiely knock-off-inspired diaper bag last-minute-before-baby-arrives sewing project, and instead embark on baby bouncer cover last-minute-before-baby-arrives sewing project.

The bouncer seat was given us by the lovely M&F as part of their generous donation to our new family, but I fancied something a bit more monochrome, to fit in with my love of black and white furnishing fabrics – see background of most photos on this blog.

Regular visitors here may recognise the snake-charming effect that IKEA fabrics have on me & my wallet. In fact there’s an entire annexe of the stash under the sofa which consists largely of their monochrome mid-century modern prints that have won my heart.

So what better use to put this ovals-decorated fabric to, than as the star attraction in this updated bouncer. Bear seems to like bouncer. Hope baby does too. If the aesthetic don’t ring his/her bells, the bouncer vibrates at two different speeds. What’s not to like? ;-)

bouncer cover on sofa & animal friends

I faithfully copied the original cover, complete with high tech features including:

  • seat & body of cover made from fabric – wadding – shower curtain fabric – therefore padded,  AND leak-proof, we hope. Shower curtain fabric from the ever marvellous John Lewis.
  • support strap with side release buckles and twill binding from MacCulloch & Wallis (reasonably good selection of haberdashery, fixings etc – cute looking website, but in-store old-school customer service with a scowl. NO refunds NO exchanges NO credit. Oh, ok then.).

bouncer cover with bear & fizz

Oh and in case you’re wondering, baby is due today. Must prepare by wrestling bottle of fizz from bear’s paw and popping it in fridge.

Leave a Reply

About me


I started this blog to help me Get Things Done: sewing and knitting mostly.
But now I have a daughter! So I continue to daydream in enormous detail about what I'd like to make, but squeeze the 'doing' into precious naptimes and evenings.

Can I keep it up? Time will tell!

Want to follow my blog and get notifications of new posts by email?

Join 42 other followers

Older posts

