Definition of a cardigan

Started back in May, this cardigan has amassed a bundle of experiences and associations for me as I worked on it. In short, the good news is: I finished it, have worn it, and will wear it again.

*Warning – longish knit-related post follows, but does include pics of Simon Baker: Guardian AND Mentalist.*

guardian cardigan copy

Were it to be named after the pattern I used, it would have been the February Lady Sweater – for that is the pattern that wooed me back into ‘like’ with this tweedy green wool. But I knitted no part of it in February, and I’m British enough to think of ‘sweater’ as a perspiration-related term, which doesn’t go with being a lady. So that name’s out.

Strictly speaking, it’s 100% refashion, as I’d knitted an entire Debbie Bliss Biker Jacket jacket years earlier, before realising on completion it was not for me. So a-cross-posting-on-Wardrobe-Refashioning I shall go, as it is my pledged duty to write up this reworking of the wool as a WR activity.

It is 75% a Guardian Cardigan – for this is what is produced when knitting along to an admittedly pretty rubbish, yet oddly addictive  legal ‘drama’, aired daily at 6.00pm on Five TV, starring housewives’ choice Simon Baker, on whom I developed an unexpectedly hefty crush. How did I get so attached to this/him?

simon-baker

Well, it would be rude to ignore such a successful formula: brooding, emotionally stilted, handsome young lawyer with exciting druggie past, in will-they-won’t-they office romance with female colleague, who you totally identify with as she tries to break down his walls of emotional stilt.  And each week he gets to save a troubled youth from an awkward legal situation. Aaah. And sometimes has to take off his shirt. Mmmmmakes it easy to ignore the paperthin characterisation/doopid plotlines/effing awful theme song.

The remaining 25% covers the bit where I missed a few episodes, lost the plot and fell off the Guardian wagon. So I knitted without Simon’s help, although we’re still friends and have tea together from time to time for old times’ sake.

For the first 8-9 inches down, it was my first topdown knit garment and first project on my new and excitingly interchangeable circular pins. Then I went away for a fortnight and didn’t want to knit tweedy wool on a Mediterranean beach, so abandoned pins, threaded Guardian Cardigan onto a holding shoelace, and knit the Mohair Sea Shrug from start to finish instead. So the Guardian Cardigan failed to get that title.

Then finally, through the magic of the interwebs, the Guardian Cardigan became my first experience of two thrilling new knitting techniques:

  • magic loop knitting – where you use a super long cable on your circular needles to knit a much smaller circumference of knit. I did the much-shortened sleeves with this method, commuting on the tube, and ensnared two fellow commuters while wrestling with the spare loops of magic cable. Oops! Giggles once, stern looks the other. This set of instructions got me started. Cool method.
  • icord finishing – where you create a kind of french knitting cord to cast off stitches, or on the edges of the knit fabric. I’d drooled enviously over needled’s apparently effortless cord finishing then found this series of fantastically descriptive tutorials on the wonderweb. Makes you feel a bit clever, this one.

So after all that, this has to be the Magic Guardian ifinished Cardigan.

Magic Guardian ifinished Cardigan

Why not? Who on earth is ever going to ask me what it’s called?

NB Cross posted on ravelry, with tiniest bit of techie detail…
2 responses to “Definition of a cardigan

  1. Oh wow! Your latest incarnation with that wool looks sooooo much better on you than the first. It must have been difficult to rip out a sweater you knitted, but I have to say, the effort was well worth it. You look totally FAB in the Feb. Lady pattern. Cute! Cute!

  2. kate

    Love your Magic Guardian ifinished Cardigan!
    I also love that you put so much thought into the naming of it! A project is not truly complete without a name. (You wouldn’t have a baby and leave her with the name on the hospital ID card that calls her “baby girl [your surname]”, so why would you leave your projects with a generic pattern name (or nameless)?

Leave a Reply

About me


I started this blog to help me Get Things Done: sewing and knitting mostly.
But now I have a daughter! So I continue to daydream in enormous detail about what I'd like to make, but squeeze the 'doing' into precious naptimes and evenings.

Can I keep it up? Time will tell!

Want to follow my blog and get notifications of new posts by email?

Join 42 other followers

Older posts

