Cabling on the tube

I’m in a tussle. Do I

a) keep to the straight and narrow – buy no more patterns, fabric or wool, but continue to use up everything already in the stash

b) buy some new wool to knit the very, very lovely  o w l s  jumper from needled – I want to do this very much.

Tussle resolved on reading the pattern – I need to brush up on chart-reading skills (currently nil) and practise cabling (last attempted in the early nineties).

So have taken the middle path via practising cabling by making something else: the manly cable scarf. This pattern has clearly been with me for a while – the print-out I found in my knitting bag is crinkley, soft and quite supple – it must have travelled round with me for quite some time. And I’m using something from the stash: chunky wool from the charity shop, in a rich, curried parsnip colour. It’s acrylic, which, on plastic needles makes for pretty muscular and elbow-flapping knitting (and it squeaks sometimes too – ugh). Hope my fellow commuters don’t mind too much.

So far so good…getting the hang of it… it’s wobbly, but it’s a cable alright:

cables001-lo

Action list:

  1. Finish cable scarf
  2. Practise making an owl or two
  3. keep to straight and narrow
  4. then splurge on o w l – compatible wool B-D
Leave a Reply

About me


I started this blog to help me Get Things Done: sewing and knitting mostly.
But now I have a daughter! So I continue to daydream in enormous detail about what I'd like to make, but squeeze the 'doing' into precious naptimes and evenings.

Can I keep it up? Time will tell!

Want to follow my blog and get notifications of new posts by email?

Join 42 other followers

Older posts

