Refashion number one – black linen dress

I was bought a lovely quality, black linen dress years ago, that made me look like I was in mourning, gaped under the arms  and showed my bra. An odd and unwearable combination – covered from shoulder to ankle, accentuating a sturdy bust and a slightly aging upper arm, while flashing ze underwear. No photos of me wearing it exist, but it looked like this sack of potaties with straps.

awful-black-linen-dress

The lovely quality linen deserved a second chance, so I dug out Vogue 2538

vogue-2538

and made it into one of these!

black-linen-dress-summer-08-final-lo1

Now I understand why people say that photographing black is very hard – although it might have helped if we’d pulled the blinds all the way up before this partic shot. Or I’d put time *ahem* into pressing the dress.

This is a dead easy pattern and is really flattering line. The shaping means that unbelted it’s comfortably loose and still creates a nice silhouette (and you can indulge in Big Lunch). But it’s not so loose that it looks silly belted. It’s become a great work  staple – works well with flats, heels or boots. I even wore it over skinny jeans with heels on a dashing-about-the-West-End-drinking-expensive-cocktails-night and felt quite grown up.  Or at least tall enough to look tall Hubby in the eye.

The only downside is, linen creases and I work sitting at a computer. So approx one hour into the day, the bottom area crinkles up and great caution must be taken bending over. From bra-flashing to knicker-flashing in one refashing.

2 responses to “Refashion number one – black linen dress

  1. You and Stacy should share notes. She’s been sewing up a storm.

  2. Aga

    I absolutely adore it! I just bought some black linen and I’m in a lookout for that pattern, but all I found for the moment is: http://www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?listing_id=33358449 but it is (ugh) over $30 and I would have to resize it to fit me.

Leave a Reply

About me


I started this blog to help me Get Things Done: sewing and knitting mostly.
But now I have a daughter! So I continue to daydream in enormous detail about what I'd like to make, but squeeze the 'doing' into precious naptimes and evenings.

Can I keep it up? Time will tell!

Want to follow my blog and get notifications of new posts by email?

Join 43 other followers

Older posts

