*So* not on my to-do list…

This *so* was not on my list of things to do this morning.

20120809-103823.jpg

But while my tea is brewing, I have a thought, and that thought quickly multiplies. What if, I copy some of the techniques on my frilly-sleeved La Redoute black tshirt, and apply them to the Hello Kitty tshirt that’s been in the mend/alter/bring back to life pile for the last couple of years? Hello Kitty jumps the queue.

20120809-104128.jpg

I cut the sleeves off and overlock them using a narrow hem, stretching the fabric like mad to get a frilly edge. It’s called a lettice hem – here are some good instructions, if you’re interested.

20120809-104106.jpg20120809-114202.jpg

Then I cut through one layer of the bottom hem of the tshirt and lettice-hem the resulting lower edge, again. From the leftover sleeve material, I cut two long cucumber shaped ovals, and lettice-hem the edges. Finally, I straight stitch the frills to the existing armscye-sleeve seam. They flop over quite pleasingly.

The End.
Now. Where was I?
20120809-104050.jpg

2 responses to “*So* not on my to-do list…

    • thanks so much! i think this might be repeated – put it this way – it’s quick, easy and there are MANY, MANY tshirts in the refashion pile!
      thanks for dropping by
      g

Leave a Reply

About me


I started this blog to help me Get Things Done: sewing and knitting mostly.
But now I have a daughter! So I continue to daydream in enormous detail about what I'd like to make, but squeeze the 'doing' into precious naptimes and evenings.

Can I keep it up? Time will tell!

Want to follow my blog and get notifications of new posts by email?

Join 44 other followers

Older posts

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 44 other followers

