Poppy playsuit

20120720-155956.jpg
Loved this poppy print when I spotted it in a charity shop and decided to buy it whatever it turned out to be. And it was a cute shirred top… for a 12 year old.

There’s no way that’ll be me, so this is obviously destined for a certain Little Miss, whose wardrobe has a large poppy-playsuit sized hole in it. There’s enough fabric for my playsuit vision, although early signs are ominous – I hold it up to her to gauge size and she screams and throws herself to the floor. Oh dear.

20120720-155405.jpgUndaunted, I trim about 20cm off the overall width, and use the spare fabric for a couple of wide-ish shoulder straps – the original straps were a bit cheese-cutter for little shoulders. I cut a semi-circle out of the hem to create legs – not sure how well this will work, but we’ll see. The cute, gathered pouch pockets move over easily to sit at her hip height – I hope she finds something interesting (and non-staining) to put in them!

20120720-160119.jpgMore importantly, I wonder if she’ll wear it?

4 responses to “Poppy playsuit

  1. I jolly well hope she does. But as we know, there is not much rationale to be had with a 12 year old daughter but catch them on a good day and you might get lucky. Its gorgeous!!! Are you sure you can’t squeeze into it? ;-)

  2. Samantha Hall

    I love, love, love it! If I was that little or if it was big I would wear it. So creative to see beyond what it originally was and make this x

  3. Pingback: Jump to the beat « Georgeina's Blog

Leave a Reply

About me


I started this blog to help me Get Things Done: sewing and knitting mostly.
But now I have a daughter! So I continue to daydream in enormous detail about what I'd like to make, but squeeze the 'doing' into precious naptimes and evenings.

Can I keep it up? Time will tell!

Want to follow my blog and get notifications of new posts by email?

Join 45 other followers

Older posts

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 45 other followers

